"More Real Life Rock" by Greil Marcus

More Real Life Rock The Wilderness Years, 2014–2021 Greil Marcus

Publication date:
24 May 2022
Yale University Press
336 pages: 235 x 156mm


For the past thirty-five years, celebrated author Greil Marcus has applied his unmatched critical apparatus to everything from music, television, radio, and politics to overheard comments, advertisements, and happenstance street encounters—an eclectic collection of what he calls “everyday cultural and found objects.”
This book, a sequel and companion volume to Marcus's Real Life Rock: The Complete Top Ten Columns, 1986–2014, is a collection of hundreds of items from the crisscrossing spectrum of culture and politics throughout the tumultuous past six years of American life. Tracking the evolution of national identity during the convulsive Trump administration, Marcus spotlights the most whip-smart cultural artifacts to compose a mosaic portrait of American society, replete with unexpected heroes and villains, absurdity and its consequences, humor and despair, terror and defiance—as seen through media, music, and more.

Bursting with Marcus’s effortless, no-nonsense, unapologetic verve, this book features seventy-three columns from 2014 through February 2021.

Greil Marcus is the author of many books, from Mystery Train (1975) to Under the Red White and Blue (2020). He most recently taught "The Age of Noir” at Berkeley. He was born in San Francisco and lives in Oakland.

“Marcus brings an acute, intellectually dexterous, aesthetically and politically informed attention to the music in question. These essays are an astounding contribution to both music and cultural history.”—Thomas Lutz, Los Angeles Review of Books