"Magnum Opus" by Zander Brietzke

Magnum Opus The Cycle Plays of Eugene O’Neill Zander Brietzke

Publication date:
08 Jun 2021
Yale University Press
256 pages: 235 x 156mm
11 b-w illus.
Sales territories:

Buy this eBook

You can purchase this title from a number of online retailers:

An original and provocative analysis of Eugene O'Neill's unfinished cycle play project

From 1935 to 1939, Eugene O’Neill worked on a series of plays that would trace the history of an American family through several generations. He completed just two of the proposed eleven plays—A Touch of the Poet and More Stately Mansions—which Zander Brietzke argues represent the core of the entire cycle. Combining archival research, literary analysis, and theatrical imagination, Magnum Opus invites an audience to see this unusual and exciting epic as a historical drama of our time.

Zander Brietzke is the author of The Aesthetics of Failure, American Drama in the Age of Film, and Action and Consequence in Ibsen, Chekhov and Strindberg. A former president of the Eugene O’Neill Society, he taught modern and contemporary drama at Columbia University.