Shostakovich's Preludes and Fugues Contexts, Style, Performance Mark Mazullo

Publication date:
22 Jun 2010
Yale University Press
304 pages: 235 x 156 x 27mm
94 music ex., 2 illus.

Buy this eBook

Yale eBooks are available in a variety of formats, including Kindle, ePub and ePDF. You can purchase this title from a number of online retailers (see below).

This is the first book-length study of Shostakovich’s Twenty-Four Preludes and Fugues for piano, Opus 87. Mark Mazullo explains the cultural context in which Shostakovich composed, relates the cycle to piano works (by Bach, Hindemith, and others), and offers individual commentaries on each of the Preludes and Fugues.

Mark Mazullo is Associate Professor and Chair of the Music Department at Macalester College.

"Mazullo’s labour of love… is an unusually broad, liberal and, indeed, inspiring piece of work that deserves to be acquired by all libraries with music collections." —Arnold McMillin, Slavonic & East European Review